Our office will be closing at 3:00pm ET today for Memorial Day. We will return all calls and emails as soon as possible. Have a great Memorial Day weekend!

0
$0.00
There are no products in your cart.
  • (800) 495-6612‬
  • Login
  • 0
    $0.00
    There are no products in your cart.

author RocketCert Staff
date 12.01.2022

In the state of Ohio, barber licenses expire every other year. For the current cycle, they need to be renewed before August 15, 2024. All application materials submitted after this date are late, and a late fee must be paid.

In order for you to successfully renew your barber license in Ohio, you will need to complete four hours of required continuing education (CE) courses.

Taking CE Courses to Renew Your OH Barber License

The continuing education courses you take cannot be just any courses. They must be approved by the state board and administered by a state-approved provider.

Continuing Education Course Topics

One hour of the four that are required consists of the Board Rules and Law class, which is available for applicants to take only through the board itself. This course is also mandatory for professionals in many other fields, so it can be applied to various licenses.

The other three hours of CE have to do with safety and infection control. If this course is taken as a stand-alone course, like the Board Laws and Rules CE, it can be applied to various licenses as well.

Exemptions for CE Course Requirements

There are some professionals in Ohio who are not required to take these four CE hours to renew their licenses. However, it should be noted that even if a professional is exempt from CE, they still must pay the renewal fee in order to keep their OH barber license active.

Professionals who do not need to take CE courses every two years include:

  • Barbers who are age 65 or older before May 3, 2024
  • Barbers who have held a license for at least 30 years as of May 3, 2024
  • First-time licensees

Of special note — if this is the first year you have held a barber license in Ohio, you are not required to take CE courses for this renewal period. However, you will be required to do so beginning with the next one.

In addition, a barber teacher license is not one that qualifies for CE course exemption status.

OH Barber License Renewals: CE Broker

When you finish the required CE hours, those hours will be reported as complete in CE Broker. Therefore, it’s important that you remember to use the prefix and license number when you are giving your license number for a CE class.

If you don’t give your number accurately, you will not receive proper credit for completion according to CE Broker.

Renew Your Barber License in OH with RocketCert

RocketCert is an approved provider of state-approved CE courses for renewing your barber license. You can get started in about 10 minutes and enjoy access to the materials from any device in any location 24/7.

When you take your CE courses with RocketCert, you’ll get an instant certificate of completion. The state is automatically notified of completions every day except for weekends and holidays.

Trust the leader in continuing education courses for licensed barbers in Ohio. Sign up with RocketCert now.