There are no products in your cart.
  • (800) 495-6612‬
  • Login
  • 0
    There are no products in your cart.

author RocketCert Staff
date 09.05.2023

If you’re a licensed roofing contractor in Florida, you probably worked very hard to obtain your initial license. That’s why you want to make sure you hold on to it for as long as you can. Having a roofing license is what allows you to work legally and ensures you keep a good reputation in your community.

Still, roofing license renewal can seem like an overwhelming task. The good news is that this doesn’t have to be the case. If you’re up for renewal and are wondering where to start when it comes to obtaining the continuing education hours you need, this guide will show you how to meet this requirement without stress.

The Process of Renewing Your Florida Roofing Contractor License

Licensed Florida roofing contractors must renew their licenses every two years. Registered contractors who work in specific local jurisdictions must renew by August 31 in years that end in odd numbers, while certified contractors who work statewide renew by the same date in years that end in even numbers.

Your first step in the process of renewing your Florida roofing contractor license is to obtain the required 14 hours of continuing education credits covering various topics. If you are a registered contractor in Miami-Dade County, you must complete two additional hours on county-specific topics.

You must finish all 14 continuing education hours before you can renew your license. Once you’ve completed the credits, you’ll simply take the following steps:

  • Visit the website of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR)
  • Log in to your online services portal (set up an account if you have not already)
  • Pay the necessary renewal and processing fees

If you attended an approved continuing education program, the state will already have a record of the completion of your required hours.

More on Meeting Florida’s Continuing Education Requirements for Contractors

Florida’s 14 required hours of continuing education must cover these specific topics:

  • General Topics: 8 hours
  • Advanced Topic: 1 hour
  • Workplace Safety: 1 hour
  • Business Practices: 1 hour
  • Laws and Rules: 1 hour
  • Workers’ Compensation: 1 hour
  • Wind Mitigation: 1 hour

If you are licensed in Miami-Dade County, you must take two additional hours on the following topics:

  • Miami-Dade County Code Chapter 10
  • Florida Statute 713 (Construction Lien Law)

Make sure to complete your hours with a DBPR-approved provider that reports directly to the state.

Convenient Options for a Hassle-Free Experience

Continuing education courses remind you of foundational principles and help you stay up to date with new developments. While these courses are important, completing them shouldn’t be difficult. 

You don’t have to stitch together continuing education hours from multiple providers. The team of contractor education experts at RocketCert makes getting your continuing education hours easy by offering comprehensive courses that cover everything you need to know. 

With an instant completion certificate and daily updates to the state, RocketCert ensures you never miss a beat. Contact our team today to start the renewal process for your Florida roofing contractor license, and get back to serving your customers without hassle or delay.