There are no products in your cart.
  • (800) 495-6612‬
  • Login
  • 0
    There are no products in your cart.

author RocketCert Staff
date 10.14.2022

If you hold a plumbing license in Georgia, you will need to renew it at regularly required intervals. Your plumbing license expires on November 30th of even-numbered years, so you will need to renew your GA plumbing license every two years. 

The state of Georgia requires that you complete eight hours of continuing education prior to your license expiry date in order to renew your license. You must make sure to only take continuing education courses that have been approved by the state. The provider of those courses must also be approved.

GA Plumbing License Renewal Requirements

To meet the continuing education requirements, you must complete a total of four hours each year. 

If you have been initially licensed for at least one year but not more than two, you will need to complete four hours of continuing education courses. On the other hand, if you have a journeyman or master plumbing license and have held that license for more than two years, you must meet the eight-hour requirement. 

The steps for renewal are easy when you sign up with RocketCert for your certification. With RocketCert, you can recertify in four easy steps and be on your way:

  1. Purchase approved continuing education from RocketCert
  2. Complete the four required hours each year
  3. Receive your certificate of completion
  4. Renew your Georgia plumbing license

The topics and hours that are required for renewing your plumbing license in Georgia include four hours of code changes and four hours of business and management. 

Included in the business and management section are topics like safety and OSHA standards, materials and installation methods, and insurance, finance, and business law.

Additional Requirements

In addition to taking the four hours of continuing education required each year, there are other related tasks you need to complete. You will need to fill out an application and get it signed and notarized. Additionally, you must submit all other documentation required, along with renewal fees. Your renewal is then completed online. 

Make sure you complete your renewal online no later than November 30 of each even-numbered year because late renewal periods run from December 1 to December 31. Each type of plumbing license has further specific instructions on how to apply. 

Journeyman Plumber License Renewal

For this renewal, you must supply the completed application, and a background check must be done through your local law enforcement agency. 

You’ll need to submit your experience information and three references. If you have any disciplinary actions or sanctions that need to be explained, you must include a letter of explanation and court documents.

There is a non-refundable application fee of $30.

Master Plumber (Restricted and Unrestricted) License Renewal

The requirements here are the same as those that apply to the journeyman requirements with a few additions. The fee is still $30. Applicants for this license must supply work experience information to the state as well as their journeyman plumber license verification, if applicable.

Renew Your License with RocketCert

With RocketCert, you’ll be able to access state-approved continuing education courses from any device, 24/7. You’ll receive a certificate of completion immediately that you can print yourself. Register with RocketCert today to renew.